Wewiggins’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Christmas Prayer

on December 25, 2014

About this time last year I was heaving a bag filled with presents from the Ronald McDonald House to my daughters NICU room at the hospital across the road. The bag was so heavy and one of the handles snapped as I trudged through the snow. That was not going to keep me from giving my children a happy Christmas morning. Audrey was in her fifth month of residency and just had two major surgeries. As I rounded the corner a wheelchair came in view at just the right time. It could finish my heavy lifting. There would be no lights on a tree or stockings hung by the fire that year. Our tree was made of felt and continuously fell from the window where it was taped. I was fearful that our eight year old would be resentful. He surprised me. The best gift was seeing the joy he had in his heart and how he would help his baby brother and sister open gifts. The presents were just a bonus to him. Family and Jesus is what mattered the most.

This year my Christmas Prayer is that each person take time to think of and pray for those who are hurting. Set the presents aside for a moment and say a prayer for peace to enter each heart. And if you are spending Christmas in a hospital with a sick child, parent, spouse or friend, please know that you are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

