Wewiggins’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Breakfast Plan

on March 11, 2013

It has been quite a while since the blog has been updated. For those who have not heard… we are expecting twins in August! We could not be any happier! I have decided to pre plan freezer and crockpot meals to ensure that my husband and son are still fed while we adjust to our two new additions. Over the next few weeks I’ll be blogging those plans here. Feel free to comment any meal ideas that you would like to share! And please don’t judge, but the purpose is to to feed my family while saving time. So, some of these plans include meals purchased from the freezer section. Also, I have not tried freezing all of these yet and will have to update the post with cooking instructions once I have. Enjoy!

Breakfast

Pancakes – Any pancake mix will be fine. Follow the instructions on the box. I plan to make ahead 20 regular and 20 pumpkin pancakes. To create the pumpkin I just add pumpkin pie spice to the batter. Allow pancakes to fully cool and then wrap individually in paper towel. Place batches into marked freezer bags.

Waffles – I use Krusteaz, but again any mix will do. I will likely make several boxes since my son loves waffles in the morning. And just follow the box instructions. Follow the same freezing instructions as the pancakes.

Sausage pancake sticks – My son loves to eat these (especially while camping)! But they are horribly expensive. I found this recipe on The Food Network website and plan to make several batches to freeze. I have yet to try this one. So, wish us luck!

Breakfast burritos – my family loves breakfast burritos! However, our little man is a little picky about what goes into his. So, I’ll be making a couple of different batches of these. For my son, I will I will make a scramble egg with ham mix. Fill the center of tortilla shells with egg mixture. Sprinkle shredded cheese on mixture. Fold up ends and roll. Once cooled wrap in paper towel, then foil and freeze. For my husband, I will follow the same process substituting a scrambled egg, sausage and green pepper mix. And for mine I will follow the same using hubby’s mixture but adding onions and mushrooms. The beauty of this recipe is you can cater to each individual persons taste buds using different ingredients.

I plan to pair most of these recipes with fresh fruit and/or yogurt. And I will alternate these meals with mornings of cereal, muffins, oatmeal, etc.

One response to “Breakfast Plan

  1. Deb says:

    Great ideas!

Leave a Reply

