Wewiggins’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Plan

on October 25, 2011

As many of you know, Josh and I have been dealing with secondary infertility for many years.  Now that I have completed my (several) surgeries, we are ready to move on to the next type of treatment.  I will undergo FSH hormone stimulation in hopes that my body will respond and allow us to become pregnant.  This entails some oral and injectable medication that was ordered through a speciality clinic and delivered to our doorstep.  I’m not exactly thrilled about the injection part of this treatment, but have watched the training videos and think I can handle it.  If not, Josh sure will enjoy poking me!

We drove for two hours this morning to have a preliminary ultrasound done.  This is to be sure that my body is clean and ready for the medication and hopefully a pregnancy.  It was over in a jiffy and the sonographer told us that a nurse would be calling us with our plan.  While the two hour drive back was peaceful and Josh and I had some nice conversations, I think we were both on pins and needles waiting to hear from the nurse.  We went seperate ways as Josh left for work and I continued the drive home.  That’s when the call came and the nurse asked if I was ready to hear our plan.  So, here it is… the plan.

Today I start taking the oral medication and will continue with that through Saturday.  I will also start taking the injections on Saturday.  My first injection will be a challenge and not just because of my fear of needles.  It will need to be given while we are at church.  That brings me to prayer request number one.  Please, pray for courage to administer the injections.  They will have to be administered every night through Tuesday, November 1st.  On Wednesday the 2nd we will have to make the several hour drive for another ultrasound and bloodwork.  Then we will wait for direction from the clinic again.  These tests will let them know if we need to continue these injections or if we can switch to the next medication.   This brings me to prayer request number two.  Please, pray for patience through all of the waiting that we will experience during this long process.  There are many times in the plan where we are all “on hold” waiting for the doctor to review and decide the next step.  Prayer request number three is for wisdom and guidance for the medical staff. 

We are both excited and a little anxious over the treatments.  God has placed many friends in our life that have experienced infertility.  It seems they all have different outcomes whether they choose adoption, treatments or to live without children.  Some of them have experienced successful treatments while others have not.  I believe that God has placed all of these people in our life as a gift to help guide us through our own journey.  And while the medical staff has given us “the plan”…. the final prayer request is for acceptance of God’s plan, no matter what the outcome. 

Jeremiah 29:11

New International Version (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

We will continue to update everyone of our status in “the plan” through this blog.  Thank you all for the prayers, good thoughts, friendships and distractions through this journey.

Lastly, Bailey is not aware of what the medication and doctor appointments are for.  This is something that I do not want to share with him unless we have a positive outcome.  His heart aches for a baby brother (specifically) and I do not want his hopes to be crushed if we do not have that outcome or if takes a long time for a positive one to come. 

With Love,

Christina and Josh

2 responses to “The Plan

  1. deb says:

    well, you guys are definately in our prayers, I pray for the best outcome for your family. thank you for sharing your journey.

    love you all

  2. Amy Pangborn says:

    Christina and Josh,
    You are in our prayers. I pray that God will Bless you thru this journey.

    Amy and Jon Pangborn

Leave a Reply

