Wewiggins’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fork in the Road

on January 25, 2011

Well, we met with the Reproductive Endocrinologist yesterday. After reviewing our medical histories he gave us two options for treatment.  We could choose IUI with gonadotropins (injectable hormones).  This treatment statistically ends in live birth 15% – 20% of the time with a small risk of multiples.  Or we could choose IVF with gonadotropins.  This treatment statistically ends in live birth 40% – 50% of the time.  There is still a risk of multiples.  However, the risk is minimized since the number of embryos implanted is controlled.  We were unable to meet with the financial counselor since she was sick.  She was supposed to call me today.  Since I didn’t get a call I assume she is still sick.

Now we are standing at a four pronged fork in the road.  You’re probably asking what the other two paths could be.  One is adoption and the other is continuing on as things are.  We are really unsure of the path that God want us to take.  So for now, we are being still and praying about things.  Please pray for God to either open or close doors and make his path for us clear. 

 Please, also be sensitive to how this is affecting Bailey.  And try not to talk about the topic in front of him.  The other day he asked me if I felt “ticking” in my belly.  Upon him clarifying I found that he asked if I felt kicking.  When I told him no, he said, “well my brother must be sleeping in there then.”  Not knowing what to do, I gently held his face in my hands and firmly told him that mommy does not have a baby in her belly.  He argued with me.  So, I asked him why he thought that.  He said, “God told him, in his heart, that it was time.”  I really don’t want to break his spirit and am nervous that his faith will be shaken if he does not have a brother some day.  So, pray for guidance for how Josh and I need to respond to him.  And pray for his hurting heart.

We will be sure to update the blog as soon as we have more information or know what direction we will pursue.

Leave a Reply

